Copyright
Before You Start
Everything on the Internet is not free for you to use nor is it true.
The purpose of copyright is to protect digital items just as it does physical ones. It can be very difficult to see what copyright or license applies or track down a creator in the digital environment. Here are a few tips.
1. Use media with stated licenses.
This includes Creative Commons and Public Domain; these works will be clearly labeled so that you understand what you need to do to edit or reuse them. You will need give credit where credit is due though. Attribution is part of Creative Commons and items will typically state this.
2. See if your situation qualifies as Fair Use.
If you are using these materials in the classroom, as a student or instructor, your work may be subject to different guidelines. Remember, you will still need to provide citation information to give proper credit to your sources. When considering Fair Use, think about the academic use of what you are doing.
3. Create your own media.
Technology has made creating your own images and media is easier than ever before. Use a camera, audio or video recorder to make your own media.
4. Purchase the rights to use items.
There are many sites where you can pay to be able to use images, videos, etc.
Fair Use
Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers
- ONLINE BOOK: "Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers" by Michael CaulfieldThis guide will show you how to use date filters to find the source of viral content, how to assess the reputation of a scientific journal in less than five seconds, and how to see if a tweet is really from the famous person you think it is or from an impostor. It’ll show you how to find pages that have been deleted, figure out who paid for the website you’re looking at, and whether the weather portrayed in that viral video actual matches the weather in that location on that day. It’ll show you how to check a Wikipedia page for recent vandalism and how to search the text of almost any printed book to verify a quote. It’ll teach you to parse URLs and scan search result blurbs so that you are more likely to get to the right result on the first click. And it’ll show you how to avoid baking confirmation bias into your search terms.
Association of College and Research Library's PRIMO "Site of the Month"
- PRIMO: Site of the MonthEach Site of the Month interview offer insights and ideas from the creators and developers of projects accepted into the PRIMO database. The PRIMO database, which showcases exemplary online instruction materials, is maintained by the PRIMO Committee of the Instruction Section.
Creative Commons and Public Domain Images
Creative Commons &
Public Domain Images
-
The British Library Photo Stream
The British Library’s collections on Flickr Commons offer access to millions of public domain images. -
Creative Commons
Creative commons provide access to licensed media that you can legally share and reuse for free. -
CSIRO ScienceImage
An image library specialising in science and nature photographs from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Organisation (Australia). All images are free to download under a Creative Commons license -
DrStockPhotoDrStockPhoto.com provides royalty free stock photos and images under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.
-
ImageBaseThese images are free to use: non-profit, commercial, business, print, web, screen, film, or anything else.
-
NASA
NASA has a large collection of current and historical astronomy related images to browse through. The images are generally not copyrighted and are available for educational and informational use. The images are all high resolution and file sizes can be quite large so images may need to be resized for use. -
New York Public Library
This public domain collection spans the breadth and depth of NYPL's holdings, from the Library's rich New York City collection, historic maps, botanical illustrations, unique manuscripts, photographs, ancient religious texts, and more. -
Open Photo
- A moderated photo community with thousands of Creative Commons licensed photos in various categories.
-
UnsplashAll photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.
Norfolk State University and the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library do not endorse the web sites of other entities or assume any responsibility for their content or operability. Norfolk State University does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, sex, color, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, political affiliation, or against otherwise qualified persons with disabilities in admission to, participation in, or receipt of the services and benefits under any of its programs and activities, whether carried out directly or through a third-party, or any other entity with which Norfolk State University arranges to carry out its programs and activities.