Skip to main content

Media Center: Online Sources

This guide is an overview of the services and equipment offered by the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library's Media Center.

Interested in using our 3D Print Studio? Click here.     Want to reserve one of our audio suites? Click here.

Please fill out our online survey! It helps us help you! Just click this link and answer nine questions.

Online Audio Sources

Free Music Archive

  • An interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads

Freesound 

  • Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.

Internet Archive

  • The virtual library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users.

Jamendo

  • Creative Commons music available for browse and download - various genres and artists.

Musopen

  • A non-profit providing recordings and sheet music without copyright restrictions.

National Jukebox

  • Historical recordings from the Library of Congress. 

National Public Radio

  • A thriving media organization at the forefront of digital innovation, NPR creates and distributes award-winning news, information, and music programming to a network of 975 independent stations. Through them, NPR programming reaches 26 million listeners every week.

TED Radio Hour

  • From NPR - An audio journey through fascinating ideas, astonishing inventions, and new ways to think and create. Based on riveting TEDTalks from the world's most remarkable minds.

Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers

Association of College and Research Library's PRIMO "Site of the Month"

Online Image Sources

Artstor Public Collection

  • Artstor’s ever-growing public collections offer approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

    Anyone may view and download these collections at library.artstor.org; no subscription or login required.

Antarctic Photo Library

  • Thousands of photos are available (complete with captions, credits and resolutions) for you to view and use, including people, scenery, arctic research stations, and historical photos. 

AP Images - Royalty Free

  • Images provided by the Associated Press.  Make sure the image is royalty free before using.

British Library Digital Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts

  • A searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library. The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials.

Getty Museum Open Content

  • Currently, there are more than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.

Google Art Project

  • Famous images from museums all over the world including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Tate Britian, the MFA, Boston, and the J. Paul Getty Museum.

The Famous Artists

  • The Famous Artists is a collection of artwork and artist bios. Nearly all of the artwork is in the public doman - as always, double check media to ensure copyright compliancy.  

From Old Books

  • High resolution scans of images from antiquarian books available for download. 

Hubble Gallery

  • An expansive collection of Hubble Images including planets, stars, nebulae, galaxies, and more. 

Library of Congress

  • The library contains 14 million images. These include photographs, historical prints, posters, cartoons, documentary drawings, fine prints, and architectural and engineering designs. While international in scope, the collections are particularly strong in materials documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

  • The NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open online access to hundreds of thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the library. Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more.

Old Book Illustrations

  • Illustrations scanned from old books. Images include wood engravings or woodcuts, etchings and metal engravings.

U.S. History Images

  • A collection of images mostly covering the American Civil war. The primary source material comes from books published from as early as 1842 up to 1922.

U.S. National Archives (on flickr)

WebMuseum, Paris

  • The WebMuseum provides images of famous works of art and includes biographical and historical details about the artwork and the artists. 

WikiMedia Commons

  • Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here.

The World War II Poster Collection

  • The 338 items, primarily World War II-era posters, featured in this site's database were collected and preserved by the Northwestern University Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department. 
  

Online Video Sources

Academic Earth | Academic Video Lectures

  • Offering free online classes and in-depth online learning. Academic Earth brings courses online so everyone can receive a world-class education from the world's leading scholars without being restricted by physical boundaries offering original thought-provoking videos, designed to spark your intellectual curiosity and start a conversation.

Academic Film Archive of North America 

  • This site offers a list of films on animation, art, business, drama, guidance, science and math.  Most films are from the 1950’s and 60’s and are less than 30 minutes long.

Annenberg Learner

  • Annenberg Learner's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching.

AP Archive

  • Historical and contempirary collection of interanational TV footage from the Associated Press. 

ARKive  

  • DIGITAL MEDIA (IMAGES, VIDEOS). Unique collection of thousands of wildlife videos, images, and fact-files, with a special focus on the world's threatened species.

Biography Channel

  • Full episodes and clips available of biography content of individuals both current and from the past. 

C-Span Video Library

  • "The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, almost totaling over 191,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."

Creative Commons Video Sites

  • This is a listing of over 200 Creative Commons (CC) licensed video media collections. This content is freely accessible, and depending on the specific CC license applied, may allow for greater reuse of this content above and beyond copyright fair use exemptions.

Folkstreams

  • Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakes, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. Site provides simple keyword and advanced searching, as well as ability to brose by subjects, regions, titles, filmmakers, and other categories. Video displays include links to additional, related films.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies 

  • From Yale University, 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. 

Frontline

  • View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.

Internet Archive

  • The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Videos in the Archive are organized into 15 broad sub-categories: Animation and Cartoons, Arts & Music, Computers & Technology, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral Films, Home Movies, Movies, News & Public Affairs, Open Source Movies, Spirituality & Religion, Sports Videos, Video Games, Vlogs, and Youth Media. The Archive also contains the Prelinger Archive, the most complete and varied collection of ephemeral films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) in existence.

Mike Wallace: The Interviews

  • Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Provided by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Each program includes a text transcript. Available interviewees include Eleanor Roosevelt, Frank Lloyd Wright, Margaret Sanger, and Salvador Dali among other notables of the time.

MIT Video

  • The MIT Video website — developed and maintained by the MIT News Office — aggregates and curates video produced by the Institute's offices, laboratories, centers and administration. This includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more.

Movieclips

  • Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook and MySpace, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations. In addition to searching by title or actor, the site provide additional search capabilities for dialogue, genre, action, occassion, theme, and mood and categories including best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.

Moving Image Archive

  • A collection of moving images (i.e. films) that are in the public domain. Contains an ecclectic variety of full length features, advertisements, speaches, and educational films.

National Park Service B-Roll Video

  • Public domain video of some National Park Service sites including national park,s munuments, battlefields, and historic sites.

Open Video Project

  • A shared digital video collection.

Pop Tech

  • PopTech brings together a global community of innovators from many fields to share insights and work together to create lasting change.

P.O.V. Video

  • Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.

Public Resource Org

  • PublicResourceOrg helps channel the public domain by obtaining government videos and making them available online.

ScienceCinema

  • Contains multimedia videos from the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research.  The site uses state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Enter a word or phrase in the search box and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

Smithsonian Institution - Collection Search Center 

  • Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

SnagFilms  

  • Watch full-length documentary films for freethe arts and more.

TED | Talks

  • Ideas Worth Spreading. Ted Talks is a series of lectures by innovative leaders of their respective fields. These inspiring, thought provoking lectures touch on a boundless and diverse range of issues.

UCLA Preserved Silent Animation 

  • The collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950. Included here are most of the Max Fleischer and Famous Studios Paramount subjects; the George Pal “Puppetoons”; the independent productions of Ub Iwerks; many of the Van Beuren “Rainbow Parade” shorts; a large number of Warner Bros. cartoons; and a recent acquisition of “Terrytoons” still being sorted through.

Wellcome Film: Digitizing Medical History 

  • Online collection of moving images on 20th-century healthcare and medicine. Over 450 titles - 100 hours of historical film and video - have been transferred and are freely available under Creative Commons licences.

WGBH Lab 

  • Categorized stock video clips from WGBH TV, this collection contains tons of rights-free archival footage perfect for creating mashups or short videos.

WGBH Open Vault 

  • Provides online access to unique and historical content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.

 

Norfolk State University and the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library do not endorse the web sites of other entities or assume any responsibility for their content or operability. Norfolk State University does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, sex, color, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, political affiliation, or against otherwise qualified persons with disabilities in admission to, participation in, or receipt of the services and benefits under any of its programs and activities, whether carried out directly or through a third-party, or any other entity with which Norfolk State University arranges to carry out its programs and activities.